Share this news

Bernie Taupin, Richie Sambora, and Dr. John are part of the lineup of presenters and performers at the 2015 Songwriters Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Dinner, which takes place June 18 in New York City.

Other artists slated to participate in the event include Tony Bennett, Paul Williams, Zac Brown, Michael Bublé, Carly Rae Jepsen, and Ne-Yo.

This year’s Songwriters Hall of Fame inductees are late Grateful Dead frontman Jerry Garcia and his longtime lyricist Robert Hunter, late blues legend Willie Dixon, pop vocalist Cyndi Lauper, country singer Toby Keith, pop-rock songwriter Linda Perry and country hit maker Bobby Braddock.  In addition, Van Morrison will be presented with the Johnny Mercer Award, Lady Gaga will receive the first-ever Contemporary Icon Award and fun. singer Nate Ruess will be honoured with the Hal David Starlight Award. Also, What a Wonderful World will be recognised with the Towering Song Award.

The 46th annual Songwriters Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Dinner will be held at the Marriott Marquis Hotel.  Tickets can be purchased via phone at 914-579-1000.

Elton and Bernie were the recipients of the Johnny Mercer Award at the 2013 Songwriters Hall of Fame ceremony. While the pair was previously inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1992, their Mercer Award was to recognise lifetime achievement. This represents the highest accolade the Hall of Fame can bestow. 

Did you like this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.