Share this news
There’s currently a Facebook page which seeks to induct Nigel Olsson, Davey Johnstone and Dee Murray into the Rock and Rock Hall of Fame

The Rock Hall introduced the “Sidemen” category in 2000 to honour ”those musicians who have spent their careers out of the spotlight, performing as backup musicians for major artists on recording sessions and in concert.” The category was changed to “Award for Musical Excellence” in 2010, to give the RRHoF more flexibility to ”recognise some people who might not ordinarily get recognised.”
Since then, several sidemen/backup bands have been inducted… the Crickets, Comets and Miracles, to name a few. Now one of Elton’s longtime admirers has started a group to champion the induction of ”three of the most important members of the Elton John Band to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.”
Nigel and Dee were the two original members of the Rocket Man’s ensemble, playing on recordings beginning in 1969, and performing with him at that first groundbreaking show at the Troubadour. Davey joined them in 1971 to play on the Madman Across the Water album, and shortly after became a full-time member of the band. Together, they helped create the signature sound that rocketed Elton to fame, through massive hits and world tours.

Over the years, Elton has changed the band from time to time… and his fans have welcomed the new members. Nigel and Davey are with Elton nowadays, but sadly, Dee passed away in 1992.

Did you like this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.